Bless me, Little Mother

This spring, when the drudgery of the semester was finally at an end, I decided to take my mind on a little vacation and revisit David & Leigh Eddings’ Elenium series. (Okay, so maybe the semester wasn’t quite over and I should have been doing work, but c’mon cut me some slack.)

RubyKI’ve never understood why the Elenium (and its sequel the Tamuli) get treated like the redheaded stepchildren of the Eddings universe. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Belgariad, but for some reason I always seem to come back to Sparhawk’s adventures. Maybe it’s the manly camaraderie of the Church Knights, the droll, wry humor that every character exhibits, or the blessed absence of feminine petulance (read: Ce’ Nedra). I just know when I pick up one of the Elenium, I’m going to have a good time.

Right now, I’m plowing through The Ruby Knight. How can you not love a book that features an encounter with a deadly succubus? I mean, really, there just aren’t enough succubi in literature these days. And then there’s the necromancy. Huzzah for the raising of the dead!

Now all I need is a frosty glass of stout served by a buxom, giggling wench and my vacation will be complete.

One Response

  1. Awww, David Eddings! I never even got to the Elenium series. What a putz I am. But my brother LOVED The Belgariad and now you’ve given me the idea for an excellent birthday present for him… Good show, ya Swell Dame!

Leave a Reply

